BAD ASS SHEPHERD-LESS PIE


Theoretically, this doesn’t really fit the category of ‘VEGAN SURPRISE’, but it surprised the HELL out of me!! So much so, that I’ve had friends and family calling for the recipe seeing as I wouldn’t shut the hell up about it!

Bad Ass Shepherdless Pie
Bad Ass Shepherdless Pie

I came across this recipe ย last week onย Sweet Sugar Beanย for a Lentil & Kale Shepherd’s Pie with Roasted Garlic Potatoes, and although it looked heavenly, and I could almost smell it just by looking at it, it sadly wasn’t vegan. So, I quickly went to work swapping out dairy bits & pieces for vegan versions in the hopes I’d still get smacked in the tastebuds by awesome. Did I WHAT!!! (Irish statement of intent, meaning I KILLED IT!!!!!) Oh the irony ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bad Ass Shepherdless Pie Part Deux

The original recipe ร la Reneรฉ called for kale, cream, butter, cheese, honey and worcestershire/worcester sauce… all my favourites, and all delectable in their own right. Instead, Iย substituted some of these goodies for some dairy free sunflower butter, andย Alpro Soya SIngle Alternative to Creamย to recreate that creamy mash texture. Forย convenienceย ย reasons (translation = on a permanent budget) I’ve left out a few ingredients like cheeses, honey and worcestershire/worcester sauce, but you can swap these for cheddar alternatives, maple syrup and a vegan version of worcestershire sauce. I used Cholula’s chilli and garlic hot sauceย for a bit of added sweetness, and I also swapped the kale for spinach as that’s what I had to work with, and it worked a bloody treat. As the recipe says “No kale?ย  Use any other green or sub in mushrooms or carrots or go without – it will still be awesome”.

The Humble Spud

All I can say is that this recipe knocked my socks off, even my tailored bastardised vegan version. I have to admit, I never follow a recipe to the letter because I prefer to make everything my own, so I sniff, pinch and poke around measurements and let my mouth do the taste test along the way. That said, I definitely used the Sweet Sugar Bean recipe as guide in shining armour, but I altered it to my own taste seeing as I was freeingย bastardisingย it from dairy ๐Ÿ˜‰ I really and truly didn’t want to lose any of the taste or that warm, comfort feeling, and I have to say I literally killed this recipe in the best way possible! Just saying! OH, and might I just say… The roasted garlic mashed into the potato topping is one of the most heavenly things I’ve ever tasted in a mashed potato… It almost didn’t make it to the topping! An accolade of the highest order from an Irish gal. I’ll be spreading word on Irish shores ASAP!

Roasted Garlic

RESULT: Only an acronym can do this any justice… O. M. F. G.

Once again, here’s the original recipe on Sweet Sugar Bean –ย CLICK HEREย – follow your gut, nostrils and taste buds and create your own masterpiece!

Toodle pip

x

Taa daa

One thought on “BAD ASS SHEPHERD-LESS PIE

Leave a Reply

